Polyglot Lane


I always expect to be speaking two languages when I’m in the office dealing with my Italian colleagues and speaking with our English clients, but not very often is it a requirement of dog walking.

Today I’m taking our youngest dog, Alf Alf for his walk and the first person I see in the lane is the English builder working on my neighbour’s house, I stop and we pass the time of day. I continue on down the lane when driving towards me is my friend Nicola and we have a quick chat in Italian.

11063957_10152755853552187_750022013091978293_n

The weather’s good so we walk further down the lane than usual and I spot a couple from a nearby village who have a holiday home here and we converse with a few English pleasantries before my friend Giuseppina calls to me. She only speaks dialect and we manage a short cobbled together conversation before it’s time to turn around and walk Alf Alf back home.

I’m sure moments like this are quite common for anyone living in another country where the language is different from their own.

And it’s moments like this that make living abroad special.

2 thoughts on “Polyglot Lane

  1. Hi Barry We love your blog and insights into life in Abruzzo. We have recently bought a house near Torricella Peligna. In a recent blog you mentioned a favourite restaurant near Roccasalegna. We would love to give it a try – could you share the name please With thanks Saluti

    >

Leave a Reply

