Getting Stuffed: Fun with a Courgette


Okay, so the title today is a bit provocative, but you should know me by now, there’s always a little bit of Carry On… lurking in the background of my psyche.

Today for lunch I was unsure what to make and as I  have spent the last few days writing about Italian food I thought I’d have a go at stuffing something. Italian’s are very good at using up almost everything in their store cupboards, Nothing seems to go to waste, a throwback to days when food was scarce and the cuisine often referred to as cucina povera (poor kitchen). I had two courgettes sitting in the fridge doing nothing so it was time to make them pay their way. So I split them in half lengthways and scooped out the flesh and after a drizzle of olive oil I popped them into a pre-heated oven for 10 minutes.

As the courgettes baked I chopped the scooped out flesh and added a small chopped onion and two cloves of garlic and a pinch of chilli seeds, this mixture was softened in a little olive oil in a  frying pan then set aside to cool as I removed the courgettes from the oven.

I then took a handful of breadcrumbs: I don’t really do correct measurements, I’m a seat of the pants kind of guy and another handful of grated parmesan and mixed this with the mixture and then seasoned with black pepper and salt until mixing in a beaten egg. I then stuffed the baked courgettes and placed them in a shallow ovenproof dish with enough passata to come two-thirds of the way up the courgettes.

100_8594

I then baked them for approximately 20 minutes at 200°C and then served them up. The courgette was still firm enough to retain its shape and have some bite and the filling was crispy on the top and was a spicy compliment to the passata and the courgette. 100_8600-crop

I guess there’s many different ways of doing this; maybe for a non veggie option you could crumble in some pre-cooked sausage meat or pancetta. I for one shall be having more fun in the future stuffing things….. Oooer Matron!

Leave a Reply

