October Sunshine and a Kindle


Today I finished reading my book. An actual book. One with pages made from paper and a cover with artwork. I’m not a big reader, managing a book a year, but since arriving in Italy I’ve been gradually getting through the paperbacks I brought with me;. Nothing lends itself better to sitting in the sun than having a book to read, so my intake has increased. To feed this burgeoning new habit I’ve invested in a Kindle. I tried the Sony e Reader a few years back and couldn’t get on with it, so felt resigned to be one of the hard-copy book lovers rather than an e book admirer. But Kindle has changed my mind, yes I do still like the feel and smell of a printed book, but the convenience of a Kindle has so many benefits.

I can carry my library with me as the device fits into my bag alongside all my other gadgets and work related paraphernalia. I can put articles I’m working on onto it and read and review them when I’m away from my workspace and I can download a new book in an instant, no waiting for it to arrive via DHL or any other delivery service that take an aeon to  get here.

100_7869-crop

Unpacked, set up and synched to my laptop I was ready to enter the digital literary age, my first task was to download my two favourite novels, that I like to have at all times; both unusual choices for man, I guess. The first is Wuthering Heights, Emily Brontë’s novel of unrequited love and loathing amid the wild Yorkshire moors never fails to satiate my need for something dark and brooding, and I can dip in and out reading random chapters when the need takes me.  The second is the Charlotte Brontë classic, Jane Eyre, I was given a copy of this book as a child of ten for an excellent attendance record at Sunday school, and I found the characterisation and plot exciting: yes even as a ten-year old. This isn’t a book I can dip in and out of, so every now and then I re-read it. The last time was back in 1996 during a spell in Croatia just after the Bosnian conflict, I was reading as the plane took off from Manchester heading for Split, when a man in the aisle next to me leant over and thinking he’d be funny said, “He goes blind and his wife’s a mad woman who dies when she burns the house down.” Pretending I didn’t know the story, I remonstrated him him for spoiling my book telling him It was the only I brought with me. His wife then got involved and gave him a harsh tongue lashing and for the remainder of the flight I smiled inwardly as he spent an uncomfortable four-hours sat across the aisle from me.

100_7870-crop

I continue to download a few other books and then decide to give the device its first outing. It’s a pleasant October day and the sun is shining, making it a sitting outside opportunity. I scroll through the books I’ve loaded onto my Kindle and select one I’ve been wanting to read for sometime. It’s by north Staffordshire author, Misha Herwin; someone I’ve had the privilege to have critique my work. The book is Dragonfire, a story for young adults, first published by Finstock Press in 2008 and for Kindle in 2012.

As I’m sat in the warm Italian sunshine reading I become transported into the world of two teenagers who by misfortune are in care. They have something different about them, gifts that normal teens don’t have: I won’t say here what they are as that would spoil the story. I’m taken down tunnels where strange beings lurk, there’s a great collection of characters including a strange talking creature who is always right, an asthmatic dragon and a small mute boy is thrown into the mix. The story introduces us to bullies turned good and an odd married couple with more OCD issues than I have.

The writing is superb, the pace is constant and written without any padding; those chapters that authors seem to write to get the word count up. Very quickly I find I’ve read a third of the book in one sitting, so I decide to put it down, to save it for another day, but this doesn’t happen and an hour later I’m sat outside, Kindle in hand with Alf asleep at my feet while Olive chases lizards. Suffice to say normally I don’t read quickly but I complete Dragonfire in three sittings. It’s a superb book for teenagers, with no patronising passages or overblown morals, it’s a romp through the realms of fantasy and reality whilst keeping its characters feet firmly upon the ground.

Dragonfire

Cover reproduced with permission. © Mick Walters of http://mjbookcoverdesign.wordpress.com/

So Today I finished reading my first e book and I’m inside the house, downloading more to store on my new electronic gadget. If you’d like to read this wonderful story here’s the link to Amazon and the Kindle version: Dragonfire on Kindle

2 thoughts on “October Sunshine and a Kindle

Leave a Reply

