Eating Out


Monday 14 January 2013 – Last week I had three different meals out and all turned out to be an experience in themselves. Obviously I can’t name them here, and I’d be a fool to do so – law suits are not the in thing for 2013.

First meal of the week was a trip to a national ‘all you can eat’ restaurant. The chain boast over 34 metres of food counters displaying tasty and freshly prepared fare. They have everything from traditional roasts, to Italian and Chinese and even British fish and chips. Sadly this concept of serving so many cuisines meant that they failed to become the master of any. I tasted nothing there that would warrant a return visit, the food was basically, sub-standard school dinner quality.

The Italian food was unlike any Italian food I have ever seen before, paper thin dough with tomato sauce and grated cheese does not make it a pizza. The BBQ section had burgers that would be best suited to shoe soles and the salad bar was quite frankly the scene of a vegetarian massacre. Lettuce was browning as tomatoes softened and grated carrot seemed to invade every section of the serving area. Not to mention spoons lazily shared between the jugs of salad dressings.

The seating area was packed with diners stuffing food into their mouths like Armageddon was about to happen. I had an instant vision of what hell must be like. People walked over to the serving bays and piled food onto plates and returned to their tables and to begin devouring the over-laden dinner plate. It really was gluttony on a massive scale.

Two women sat at a table nearby, and during my stay I observed them eat four plates of food, and finish off with two puddings. At one point, one of the women was wrapping chicken wings and sausages in paper napkins and secreting them in her handbag.

Another table close by had two young couples sat at it, the table groaned under the weight of food the young men had brought with them and one of the girls took advantage of the free soft drinks by bringing over eight large glasses of cola. I was intrigued by the other girl as she ate a plate of food which contained a burger, a battered fish, some sliced gammon and roast potatoes and some Chinese noodles: Truly international cuisine? She followed this with chocolate sponge and custard. I thought to myself, she’s had her fill, just a dinner and a sweet, but no – she then washed it down with cola before adding a curry to the contents of her stomach.

Now I’m not a bleeding heart liberal, and I’m not going to bang on about poverty, but I did find the experience obscene. Needless to say, I shan’t be returning.

My second experience was a return trip to a well-known high street pub-cum-restaurant. You know the one, where they don’t play music and the name is made up from the two words that describe climate and cutlery. Usually I’ve had good quality grub here, okay it’s not a la carte , it’s not even remotely posh but it has always been filling and satisfying. Sadly this day it was not. I ordered an Italian chicken burger, basically a piece of chicken on a bun with pesto served with onion rings and fat chips. The problem this visit was it took an age to arrive at our table and when it did it wasn’t very hot, in fact tepid is the word I’d use to describe the meal, but the final insult was the burned toasted bun. All I can say is, it’s a good job I don’t usually eat the bread bun.

100_5401

The final experience was at a small shabby looking Chinese restaurant. I didn’t expect much, just standard commercially cooked food. What a surprise it was to eat, excellent well prepared plates of food and all for just £15 for two people. Made up for the two disappointing meals earlier in the week.

View my original blog at: http://intheflatfieldidogetbored.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

